The government alone should not be responsible for reducing global environmental damage. Everyone, from individuals to major industries, should play their part.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental degradation is increasing at an alarming rate, mostly due to human activities. The onus to stop this damage lies on everyone, be it individuals, industries, and authorities. Even though great deal of effort is now being made by the government bodies, I completely agree that it is also the responsibility of every citizen to curb these global environmental hazards.

To begin with, one of the major concerns of our planet is pollution from automobiles and factories. Moreover, the air quality is taking a toll on people's health due to an increase in asthma and other lung or heart diseases. Hence, if individuals can avoid traveling to long distances in private vehicles and instead opt for bicycles or public transport can go a long way in reducing perilous emissions. In addition to this, companies or organizations can implement alternative work methodologies such as work from home or video conferences. According to a recent survey, New Zealand witnessed a 20% improvement in air quality due to reduced traffic congestion during 4 months of lockdown due to COVID 19 situation as all professionals were working from home.

Furthermore, as responsible citizens of one's country, we should limit the usage of plastic in packaging. As an illustration, for shopping purposes, the use of cloth bags or paper bags instead of plastic will aid in reducing the detrimental effects of plastic on our mother earth. Likewise, homeowners should always recycle their waste, which could significantly prevent wastage of available resources. Also, large businesses can contribute by organizing various drives in order to raise awareness regarding the use of renewable resources such as solar panels on their rooftops. As a result, solar power could be utilized for the generation of electricity, thus saving our environment. The government on their part can help monitor these actions by implementing stringent laws.

In conclusion, our planet cannot be saved by only a particular person or authority. In my opinion, environmental issues can be solved by collective efforts of both individuals, industries, and government bodies.