Government money should be used to support children in school for sports rather than to support professional sports and arts that perform for the general public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Upliftment of school sports facilities is very important and public money should be utilized for the same, rather than supporting those professionals who perform for the ordinance. I completely agree with the argument as in schools sports are completely neglected.

To begin with, sports are a very important part of the school curriculum but in recent years more stress is laid on other subjects. Moreover, due to the shortage of funds, the infrastructure needed for various sports in schools is missing. Take for example sports like football or cricket needs proper ground but due to lack of funds and open spaces in urban areas the schools usually have a common ground for all games. Furthermore, the proper trainers are also missing from schools, especially which are run by the government, as the authorities believe it is a waste of money. It is clear from the stats provided by The Tribune which highlighted that there are only 200 plus sports trainers in public schools against the sanctioned posts of 2000.

On the other side, the professionals in the field of arts and sports enjoy good financial status as a result of their tie-ups with private players. To illustrate, cricketers playing in various private leagues earn crores of rupees every year. Also, the government is paying them salaries by employing them in various departments. Even these professionals do not need government support still the governments are showering them with enormous facilities like free accommodation in hotels and free passes for public transports.

To sum up, the government should nourish the young hidden talent in schools by providing the world-class facilities and this possible only if the finance department increases the budget allocated for the school's sports department rather than sponsoring all ready well-established professionals.