Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Almost, every sport needs sponsorship from various companies in order to organise mega-events. Many believe that the advertisement for sponsors in sports activities is a negative development while others disagree. In my opinion, this is a positive development.

Sports are important due to various reasons and therefore their promotion is also necessary. From promotion to organising events, various sports bodies depend on sponsorships. For instance, Punjab kabaddi federation is dependent on Preet tractors manufacturing company as they provide a large amount of funds and in result, they showcase their agricultural equipment kabaddi tournaments across the state. This is a win-win situation for both parties as the organisers of sports need the money and the sponsors need a source of advertisement.

Still, there are some drawbacks of this mutual understanding, as some companies which promote sports are the manufacturers of products like tobacco and they paste company logo on jerseys of players. As a result, the youngsters who watch sports can pick that bad habit of taking tobacco while watching their favourite sports star wearing a jersey with a tobacco product logo. In addition, it is a universal truth that in order to become a successful sportsperson one has to go through rigorous training for years but the soft drink companies sell lies by showing that the usage of their products has made superstars.

In conclusion, In order to survive various sports need the money of big multinational companies but government agencies bring laws regarding sponsorship so that the name of a sport should not be used to sell products which are unhealthy.