ittering in cities is an increasing problem that needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines are the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

People, especially in cities, usually throw waste on the streets and the government should ensure that nobody should dispose of waste on roads. Many believe that authorities should issue challans of bigger amounts to tackle this menace. In my opinion, it would work up to a certain extent.

People littering on roads is a big problem and hiking the rate of penalty will definitely bring change in pedestrian's habit of throwing waste on roads. As of now, people are aware of mere challan amounts and if they know the penalty is a big sum, it will work. Moreover, it is seen that most of us never do things which cost them big. lastly, some times strict measures are needed for bringing positive changes and in this case, hefty fines can work that way.

But, the steeper fine rates will not only stop this prevalent habit of city residents. Therefore, the authorities and locals should work together to make city roads cleaner. Like, installing bins on the sides of streets will ensure that passersby will not have to struggle to find a place to throw waste. Secondly, people should be taught about ill-effects of garbage thrown in open, so that they change their habits. Big signboards mentioning the health hazards related to pollution on sides of the streets can also play a vital role in making urban areas beautiful.

In conclusion, the suggestion of hiking the amount for the crime related to polluting city roads can bring positive results. But launching an awareness drive among locals will do the remaining job.