Some people think that the government should spend more money on public service rather than wasting money on the arts. To what extent do you agree?

Many believe that the authorities should allocate more budget for public services, even if it is cut off from the one that is allocated for the arts. I firmly believe that this should not be done as the preservation of old items is important.

To begin with, museums in our are already struggling to get funds from the government. So, further reduction in the amount that is used for renovation and maintenance will have a huge negative impact on the smooth running o them. A recent article in The Tribune has highlighted the plight of museums across the country and how the buildings are in poor condition because of the shortage of staff for cleaning and security. If the current scenario continues the few remaining museums will be shut down as thefts are common in buildings which showcases old items like painting or weapons. With the government reluctance to hire employees in the tourism department due to the fiscal condition of the country.

On the other hand, public services are already receiving a lot of funds from the finance ministry. It is just about money management that is required, as the public money is spent on projects which are not required. For example, the bullet train project which is a pipeline is a total waste of money as the exorbitant amount will be charged from passengers in the future. Because the fair of the bullet train will be equivalent to the cost of air tickets of the same destination.

In conclusion, the maintenance of art museums is already in limbo due to insufficient funds and a further reduction in them is not a wise decision. Rather the administration should hire officers at a higher level so that they can use money allocated for public services for services that are actually needed.