International travel is becoming cheaper and more countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more countries are easing their visa terms in order to boost their tourism as it not considered as a costly affair these days. In my opinion, it is a positive development with more merits in comparison to its demerits.

The tourism industry is a big industry with the potential to generate billions of dollars annually. Almost every country is in the race to catch this opportunity and to do so they are becoming more lenient toward granting visas. Take, for example, India has recently increased the number of countries whose citizens enjoy visa on arrival facility.

The economy of the countries like New Zealand is totally dependent on the tourism industry as the country lacks other natural resources which can generate revenue. Tourism not only acts as a booster for the economy but it also raises the employment rate. For instance, in Himachal Pradesh, around 50 per cent of the population is earning directly or indirectly from tourism.

On the negative side tourism sometimes wreaks havoc on ecological fragile regions. The increased tourists rush led to deforestation as roads are widened to streamline the flow of traffic. Besides, the greenhouse gasses emitted by vehicles pollute the surroundings. For example, the air quality levels in hill stations like Mcleodganj crossed severe levels in last winters.

To sum up, tourism is an asset which can produce a lot of income for a country and the nations should invest in this sector. But tourism should not lead to the exploitation of nature, therefore, it is the moral duty of all countries to protect untouched natural beauty.