Some believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have a high-level degree.

Do you agree or disagree?

According to some the wages of people should be equal irrespective of their qualification and job type. I completely disagree with the argument as different jobs require different qualifications.

To begin with, the salary for a job depends on the job type and the number of people who qualify for the job. Take for example for a job of janitor thousands of people are eligible while for a post of doctors only a few hundred are eligible. So the salary varies with the level of competition and for a high earning job one has to compete for the post.

Moreover, the skilled jobs offer a handsome salary in comparison to unskilled jobs because for a skilled one has to earn experience. Moreover, jobs like farm labour do not need a degree or diploma and anybody who is physically fit can do these jobs. In contrast, skilled jobs require a particular qualification and work experience. Therefore, if the salaries of both skilled and unskilled jobs would be the same, nobody would care to learn a skill because of financial benefit.

Lastly, the salary of a job depends on the type of duty assigned. For instance, in nuclear plants, all the tasks are done under the supervision of senior engineers and safety of all workers is their responsibility. It is a tough job even it does not require physical labour. Therefore the job with high pay packages often come with greater responsibility.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the salaries of jobs should be fixed depending upon the responsibilities so that only the suitable candidates join jobs like doctor or engineers.