The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Throughout history, governments of different countries have always been trying to make steps bringing their nations to a lasting prosperity. In this sense an opinion exists that diverting the government's essential resources to such abstract concepts as arts instead of public services is a fundamental mistake. Although I am convinced that national money investments in the spiritual side of human nature are essential, developing sustainable infrastructure is of a paramount importance.

On the one hand, maintaining emotionally healthy population through recreational facilities including movie theatres, musical concerts and many others can be hardly overstated. Those places of rest assists people to release frequently suppressed emotions due to working environment where they are spending a majority of their weekdays. Many studies suggest that, for instance, with no sufficient mental relaxation, working productivity of most of the employees inevitably decreases over time. In other words, those seemingly non-material measures are highly valuable for overall public health.

On the other hand, comprehensive well-equipped public services as well as strongly developed transportation infrastructure are much more crucial for country’s inhabitants than any other possible areas of state's investment. Unless national police squads and medical emergency teams are supplied with technologically advanced equipment, preventions of crime and life savings are in potential threat. In the case of those gears' availability, individuals are much more likely to rely on those services which is, in its turn, improves overall emotional atmosphere of the citizens. In addition, adequate system of transportation positively influences almost every aspect of city life from commuting convenience to promptly arrival of fire department vehicles. Thus, these investments play a key role in countries' everyday routines and should constitute a main part of governments' funds.

In conclusion, I strongly support the state resources are directed to recreational areas, however, public services' capitalization is a significantly more rational decision.