Government should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of functions of the government is supporting their citizens and transferring necessary aid to them. But somebody thinks that people should save money for their elderly on their own and it might be their burden. I completely disagree with this statement and believe the elected officials must take care of senior people.

Firstly, in my opinion, this statement is very egoistic. Every month every working person pays different fees to the government. Fees for their salary, property, GST and others. Money, that every man or women could save, they send to the state fund. That is why I consider that senior citizens must have some transfers from authorities when they are retired. People paid their fees for all life and could expect to be economically protected when they are not able to work anymore. For example, in Russia citizens fees near 60% of their salaries.

Secondly, no bank is insured from crises and inflation. If the market falls, all savings will depreciate or vanish. So then, every elderly person would not have any money to live. People need to know, that they can have help from senators.

To the conclusion, authorities should offer some money to the old citizens for help because it is one of their functions.