A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Medical advances have influenced modern world in multiple spheres and its influence is a debatable issue in the society. One of the effects of these achievements is the fact that people’s life span has increased. Although some individuals consider this trend to be beneficial, I believe that the ability to live longer has more drawbacks.

On the one hand, higher life expectancy provides people with more opportunities in scientific and technological areas. It means that older generations studies throughout whole life and gains extensive experience. Living longer, they are able to share this valuable knowledge with the younger people. For instance, most of the distinguished professors at my university belong to the older generation, but they still have much experience to share with their students. Thus, prolonged lifetime allows humans to achieve technological breakthroughs simpler as they receive instructions from previous generation.

On the other hand, I am more inclined to the opinion that striving for immortality is the main reason of overpopulation. Along with a rising birth rate it will lead to inevitable, appalling consequences. If this trend continues, humanity will run out of precious recourses such as food, water, which will definitely affect the global economy. Moreover, these consequences are already happening in modern world. For example, China is one of the countries with an increased lifespan. Due to this a huge number of people lacks housing and has to live in substandard conditions. Thereby, if humans try to be immortal, they should be aware of possible drawbacks.

Even though many people argue that high life expectancy brings undeniable benefits to the society, I still believe that it is the reason of many current issues.