The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with is to introduce physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proliferation of obese people in society is a growing concern for health management systems. Some believe that the introduction of physical education and sport activities to school curriculum as a means to tackle this problem. In my opinion, I consider this as the most effective and immediate method to start working on bringing down the number of people with fat issues to a normal level.

A good reason for the inclusion of physical education and sports to school curriculum is that it helps to bring up the quintessential next generation healthy. At the moment, half of the school children in India are under-exercised, as per the latest UNICEF report. Mandating physical exercises and extra-curricular activities at the school level, gives young students access to fitness facilities such as gyms, game grounds and health clubs. Making use of these utilities, the younger portion of the society can grow up instilling a healthy culture.

Another benefit of the introduction of sportings and exercises in schools is the parallel participation of parents into these activities. Bringing their children into these events, in fact, helps make parents aware of the necessity to maintain a sound body and gradually this would lead them to develop a habit of keeping themselves fit for life. Thus the successful implementation of physical education into the school studies eventually helps transfer the fitness culture to different sectors of the population.

In conclusion, the attainment of societal fitness and a healthy lifestyle can be achieved to a great extent by properly implementing fitness education and sports into the school curriculum. The cooperation and participation of other sections of the community further inspire and make the entire society fit, leaving their otherwise sedentary life.