A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian-only zones.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Now a days there are many developing cities are making their central business district to be walkers’ friendly zones. In this essay we will discuss about both the positive and negative aspects of this topic.

If we talk about the advantages of pedestrianisation of core area of city, it's for the people who actually want to enjoy the city's real essence. It will give them freedom to roam around the core of the city without any fear of vehicle traffic. There will be neither parking nor pollution problem in pedestrian areas because all the traffic movement will be diverted from some other route keeping the crowded part only for people who want to walk and enjoy the core area of the city.

On the other hand everything which has some advantages also have some disadvantages, like people who visit the downtown area of the city for shopping need to carry all their stuff to the place where they have parked their vehicle. Similarly, time will be allotted to all the different activities to be performed in the core zones. For instance if a shopkeeper per se required to get his store from the supplier, he has to wait for the night time when the pedestrian people are less and the vehicular movement is allowed in the particular zone.

To conclude the discussion, it is always known that everything has its pros and cons, so do the pedestrianisation of city downtown have. But it is always good to keep the core area vehicle free so that congestion can be reduced and we can prevent our historical buildings and monuments from any bad effect of pollution from the urban transport.