The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree ?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, the popularity of electronic shops are increasing at an unprecedented rate. Some people believe that the traditional shops will not be able to survive in the future. I completely agree with this notion and i will put forward the reasons to support my agreement.

First and foremost, online purchasing is very convenient and provides us opportunity to shop 24x7 and there is no limitation of time like the old traditional shops, you can buy any item at any point of time. it is not only helpful for those people who work at home but also for the working professionals who hardly get any spare time. it provides a very sound mechanism to track the ordered goods and services. For instance, Amazon India updates their customers about each movement of the product and even the customer can schedule the delivery time.

Secondly, e-commerce companies provides a wide variety of goods and services at discounted rates, which helps the customer to choose the product and services as per their preferences. The e-commerce companies have a minimal expense in terms of manpower and infrastructure as a result they are in a better position to sell their products at competitive rates. On the other hand, the conventional shop owners have to bear various expenses such as electricity expenses and rent of premises. A recent study has indicated that local shop owners have to spend half of their income on rent and other charges.

Finally, a majority of e-commerce companies are providing a facility to purchase on credit on easy monthly payments, which is almost impossible for the customers to get from local shops and this is also the biggest reason for the fall of local shops.

In conclusion, the online shopping will become more and more popular because of the convenience, reasonable prices and attractive payment options.