The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping is rapidly emerging as the most popular form of purchasing items. Nevertheless, it can never be compared to physical shopping and it won’t have any considerable impact on the shops in towns and cities. This essay aims to discuss the reasons before giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why the shops will not shut down even if the popularity of online shopping is on the rise. Although nowadays people are inclined towards online shopping, a majority of the population still prefer to physically travel to the shop and inspect the item, such as the quality and color of the item, before making a purchase. Whereas in online stores it is not possible to check these attributes. People, especially women, watch other customers, analysing their preferences, before selecting from a range of options which is not possible through online shopping.

However, the online stores are beneficial to certain groups of people, for instance, job holders. Workers are unable to visit the shops due to work but they can conveniently order from their home or office and at any time of the day. After ordering a product customers have to wait for a few days to receive the item while products are instantly accessible when bought from a physical shop. Moreover, returning a product in online stores is not much cost effective compared to when physically purchased.

Therefore, I believe that even though the online shopping is trending rapidly but a portion of the general population still prefer to visit the shops personally which will ensure their continued existence for a long period.

To recapitulate, I believe shops can not be replaced by online stores as there are several factors that can only be achieved by visiting.