Hobbies need to be difficult to make them interesting.
To what extent do you agree or disagree.
“All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. Replace ‘play’ with something that you really love to do,
and you have got yourself a hobby.
There is a school of though that believes that for a hobby to be interesting, it needs to be difficult. I
personally do not subscribe to it. For one, difficulty is a subjective term. What one person considers
difficult is a piece of cake for another. Take the case of one of the most common hobbies – philately
(stamp collection) and numismatics (coin collection). You might have rarely come across a person who
collects stamps or coins who thinks that their hobby is difficult to pursue. But that doesn’t make it
boring.
For someone who is well travelled or has friends or family who travel a lot, its very easy to get their
hands on that rare stamp or coin to add to their collection. Even otherwise, in today’s day and age, you
are just a click away from buying that piece of silver (or bronze) that will make your collection complete.
All you need is passion and the willingness to go the extra mile in getting the satisfaction you crave.
Another example that quickly comes to mind is cooking. All it takes to follow that passion is a couple of
visits to the grocery store and access to the internet to view cooking videos or download recipes. Just
because its so easy these days does not make it any less of a hobby than, say, sky diving – which I must
admit is not for the faint hearted.
In short, it’s in the eye of the beholder. You have a hobby because you love doing it – be it as easy as
reading a book or as difficult as climbing the tallest peaks. It’s the passion that drives it, and not the level of difficulty.