The impact that the growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people travelling by air is to increase tax on flights.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While increasing demand for flights is having an impact on environment, there is a common notion among certain sections of society that higher taxes should be levied on airplanes. This essay will states why I partially agree with this perception, but also propose alternative measures to minimize the effect on global environment.

To begin with, to curb number of people travelling by air, one of the effective ways is to levy taxes on flights. For example, taxes on aviation fuel. This increases the operating cost of the airlines, subsequently, there will be a substantial increase in ticket prices. As a result, only affluent people can afford to travel by air. Furthermore, reducing the frequency of international flights is a mammoth challenge, so domestic flights frequency must be minimized. This will combat the pollution effects and creates a scope to develop alternative transport system for inland travel.

Another long term solution is to have a paradigm shift to electric plans. This is because of the low level of emissions released from such planes. For instance, it is reported in media that electric aircrafts produce 20% lower emission levels per passenger compared to fuel-run models. Moreover, with availability of latest technology, the size of vertical tail of an aeroplane is being reduced. Therefore, it is anticipated that it will consume less fuel.

In conclusion, from my perspective, although increasing taxes on flights such as fuel taxes is one of the solutions, other measures like reducing domestic frequency of flights, moving towards electric planes, and adopting efficient flight designs will mitigate the impact on environment.