Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines.

Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

In recent years, the production techniques are shifting from handmade to machine made products. This essay will explain why I believe that the merits of handmade products outweigh the demerits in comparison to machine made.

Considering firstly the positives of handmade products, the cardinal one is that they are considered as invaluable possession. As these are skillfully crafted by artist who often make products that resemble their culture. In contrast, majority of the machine-made products are usually modern creation of arts which are available at multiple locations globally. Furthermore, the handmade goods are of premium quality. For example, the 'Khadi' shirt which is weaved out of cotton is a hand-woven and it is of top-notch quality. As a result, the life-span of such products are normally higher compared to machine-made.

However, the main disadvantages of handmade products are that they are often extortionately priced. This is because of the limited quantity of products that exist in the market place. For instance, the handmade paintings are exorbitantly priced in such a way that only people from affluent background can afford to buy. Although handmade commodities are expensive, in contrast, machine-made are cheaper. It is vital to remember that machine-made commodities are produced on large scale production while they pass on the price benefits to the final customer.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages of invaluable value and ultimate quality of handmade items outweigh the disadvantages of high pricing of the product compared to machine made which are cheaper.