In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The number of elderly people joining old-age homes are on the rise in recent times. The expenses of such homes which include medical, food, stay, etc., need to be borne by the family of the person joining the home. In certain scenarios such as the individual is not having a family, the government needs to provide financial assistance.

To embark on, the cardinal reason why the family needs to bare the cost of stay in such homes is because when they can take care of aged people at home, still they prefer to send them to such assisted living facilities. Further, only people from affluent families send the old people to stay in such convalescent homes, so they are capable of baring the expenses incurred. For example, in a recent news article in 'Times of India' it states that a significant percentage of people joining old people's home are the ones whose kids are either settled abroad or having a nuclear family. As is the case, it is the family that needs to take care of financials of such people.

On the other hand, there are few elderly individuals who are orphans and at that age not everyone can fund their monthly expenses. In such a case, the government needs to step-up and provide the financial aid to support them. For instance, in a recent survey by an American institute, they stated that a large number of people are not physically fit enough to work and earn their bread after the age of 65. Hence, due to such factors, the helping hand of a government is highly appreciated.

To conclude, depending on the situation of the individual - considering physical and mental fitness, either the family or the government should take up the expenditure.