Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

While numerous artists draw a meagre monthly income, government should provide financial aid to ensure they meet their basic necessities of life. Although there are other domains like healthcare which needs concentrated funding, I feel the field of arts and artists are in need of monetary assistance.

Considering firstly the healthcare sector, majority of the third world countries are lacking basic medical facilities. To improve this situation, government of such countries should concentrate on construction of good hospitals and initiating medical schemes, which occupy a major portion yearly financial budget allocation. Furthermore, education sector is one more crucial part of any country, and most often underdeveloped countries do not have good infrastructure for schools and colleges. The government should improve this situation by providing adequate resources. Therefore, healthcare and education should be the priority of a country, which is economically backward.

However, arts is one such domain that cannot be neglected. This is because art and artists depict local culture through their work. As a result, this brings identity to a community or a country, thereby taking pride in claiming that we belong to a certain culture. Moreover, government should encourage and promote artists due to the fact that it is slowly diminishing. If government authorities do not take responsibilities, there will be a day when people cannot related to their cultural background. Hence, government should provide funding to artists in terms of salaries, conducting exhibitions to promote local art, and creating awareness campaigns to bring glory back to art that it richly deserves.

In conclusion, from my perspective, healthcare and education are two main pillars of a country's economy, but art is equally important as it represents a unique culture and brings identity to people. Thus, government should allocate a separate budget to provide financial back-up to artists and thereby protecting the field of arts.