An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this modern era, a growing number of schools are replacing paper-based materials with laptops and tablets. Both have their advantages and disadvantages which we will see below in detail.

If we talk about the positive aspects of adding digital devices instead of books will big-time save the paper resources and in turn, our nation will move towards a sustainable environment. Secondly, students will have easy access to multiple educational content like videos and articles which can develop an interest in studies and will also make learning a lot more easier from an understanding point of view. Thirdly, it will reduce the pressure of taking up notes specially when students are sick and unable to attend classes.

While on the other hand, these gadgets will increase screen time which will cause many health problems like weakening of eye-sight and dryness. Secondly, pupil will pay less attention in class due to easy access to online materials. Thirdly, due to the internet, children might get distracted by unwanted content.

We also need to give a thought on the individuals who live in remote areas and might face difficulties due to poor internet connection. This can hamper their studies.

To sum up, overall it's a good idea to replace traditional learning materials with modern digital devices but it's a prime responsibility of parents and institutes to keep a watch on the same and ensure judicious use.