An increasing number of students choose to spend time away from school to live abroad or gain some other meaningful experience before attending college. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It has been considered advantageous for more and more students going to different countries for exploring life-time experiences by some people, however, others believe that doing this is detrimental. Children can become self-dependent and get exposed to different cultures by going away from school but there are certain drawbacks to be taken into account.

On one hand, there are number of positive aspects of students going away from school. Firstly, children become independent as they come out of the protected nest of their parents. They learn to perform basics tasks to survive. Secondly, by going abroad they see and adapt different cultures of life. In developing countries, for instance, they see people managing life with minimum resources available. This teaches them budgeting. Thirdly, they get to know their inner-self better which helps them to identify corses which they could persue in college instead of picking any random corse they by seeing others.

On the other hand, one problem with moving away from school is that children tend to waste time in roaming around. This time could be more effectively used in joining college which in turn helps the students to move to corporate world faster. They may not be able to add that wasted time in their work experience. Another issue with this that children may get attracted to the lime light of the other world. This may risk their future as they would never return to academic life.

In conclusion, while there are merits of students going away from school to abroad, it can also lead to wastage of time and negligence for higher studies.