With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

The way of communication has been changed in this contemporary world owing to the modern technologies and availability of the internet. Electronic mails and text messages have substituted postal services and phone calls have taken place of the video calling over internet. More and more people are turning to these methodologies making face to face communication outdated. However, I believe that direct communication among masses cannot be replaced.

There are many benefits of the modern modes of the correspondence. Firstly, internet has made the world closer and contributed to the globalization. Through the blogs and social networks, people can contact others of the same interest around the world. Secondly, this channel of communication is quick and time saving in terms of seconds. For example, postal services take minimum one day to send a postcard overseas, but the email services can do that work in few seconds. Finally, it is available all over the world making it easy for anyone to contact a friend or a relative anywhere on this planet.

Despite these benefits, it is not possible to replace the face to face communication. There are several grounds for this argument. Firstly, gestures and body language are very crucial to convey the message which is not possible with the modern way of communication. For instance, it is very easy to guess the feelings of the person through direct confront. Secondly, of course the emoticons are there to represent the emotions, but they cannot take place of human emotions and facial expressions. For example, it is quite hard to understand the feeling of happiness of a wife whose husband came from the long duty of six months. Lastly, human interactions are the basic interpersonal skills for the mankind and civilizations.

To conclude, although having many merits for the present days’ technologies, face to face communication cannot become obsolete or extinct.