02/10/2017

With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

Many aver face-to-face communication has been becoming obsolete and it will have been substituted by the internet based one in the nearest future. I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, the popularity of communicating via such web services as Facetime, Skype and Telegram has been steadily growing in the XXI century because of several factors. Firstly, exploiting the new technology allows businesses to make money and to organize work of company more efficiently. Many firms have offices that are situated in different parts of the globe and the modern services give them an indispensable opportunity to coordinate the work among branches without serious investments. Secondly, a plethora of people started to use their smartphones and laptops to communicate because it is extremely convenient. An individual may talk about problems with colleagues as well as to converse with his relatives without leaving his apartments or even being in a bed. Those are benefits that make the trend plausible.

On the other hand, it appears unlikely that face-to-face interaction will completely disappear in the foreseen future. Primarily, communicating is not a mere exchange of written or spoken information, it includes many additional aspects such as posture, smell and mimics. Unavailability of this complementary data in a conversation led via e-mails or phone calls often causes misunderstanding and misinterpretation of intentions and words a counterpart. Furthermore, a human being has a biological necessity to have a physical contact such as face-to-face contacts to feel happiness. In fact, a novel psychological research showcased a correlation between the increasing usage of the net to communicate and decreasing of population’s level of joyfulness. In other words, those disadvantages make eradication of face-to-face interaction unlikely.

In conclusion, new communication technologies have become popular among folks but the belief the personal contacts will be substituted by the online ones completely is unsound because of the discussed shortages that are associated with the trend.