International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

International sporting events such as the Olympics and Commonwealth games have a large audience these days. Some people believe that the nation hosting these events also invites many issues and a financial burden. I completely disagree with this argument and will discuss why I believe so in this essay.

To begin with, critics of hosting world level events argue that the country must spend a lot of money. They have to build world-class facilities, arrange for transportation, accommodations, and make other arrangements for the players, officials, and their families. Additionally, sometimes they need to relocate some of its citizens to occupy the required area for the events. Going through this process can be quite stressful and may indeed bring some trouble.

However, in my opinion, the difficulties of hosting such grand events are insignificant compared to the benefits they bring. Firstly, building world-class facilities and other arrangements generate a lot of employment for the host country. Job creation is not just limited to one particular field but is achieved in many sectors including hospitality, restaurants, local shops, and more. Moreover, organizing large-scale events puts the country in the world’s spotlight. The country can use all the goodwill to attract more tourists. Research suggests that after any major international sporting event, a country quadruples the number of visitors in the following five years of the time period. Therefore, the amount of wealth generation during and after the event eclipses the cost and difficulties incurred for a brief period of time.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a country should always welcome the opportunity to host international sporting events. Despite some initial difficulties, this will only bring more prosperity to the nation organizing these events.