The internet has made the world smaller by bringing people together. To what extent do you agree that the internet is making it easier for people to communicate with another?

Technological development continously break the barriers to effective communication. Modern technology such as the internet has made it possible for anyone to connect anywhere in the world with ease and speed. I strongly support that internet have been a factor in advancing the medium of communication because of its positive effects in relationships, education and business.

Many people believe that social media caused deterioration of interpersonal relationship and communication skills of young generation. However, it cannot be denied that social media applications have strengthened the connection of people from across the world. For instance, in the Philippines, many children communicate with their parents who are working overseas through social media applications such as Facebook Messenger, Skype and Viber. The internet allows them to call, chat and even send pictures to each other bringing them closer despite being apart.

Business and economy have also greatly benefitted from the use of internet. Nowadays, office meetings can be done through videoconferencing where employees can meet discuss agendas regardless of timezone and location minimizing the need to travel. In addition, one major benefit of internet in the Philippine economy is the emergence of business process outsourcing where some business operations are offshored to the country.

Internet and technology have also made it possible to connect learners and educators through online classrooms. Today, many univeristies have opened its doors to long distance learning which provided students access to education. An example of this is web based education platform University of the World where less privileged people and volunteer teachers come together. In addition, this development also opened opportunitites for working professionals to develop their competencies through online trainings popularly known as webinars.

Overall, the rise of technology and birth of internet have brought tremendous changes in the way people maintain their relationship and obtain their education. It has also brought disruption on how businesses are done. I strongly believe that these developments have made and will continue to make the people’s lives more convenient.