Many parents believe that when their children read book for entertainment, they are just wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Reading various kinds of literature is a good habit to develop amongst children specially when started at a young age. However, parents can be very particular and selective with the materials their children read. While many parents prefer their children to read only academic books, I believe that kids should have choices for leisurely reading as well.

To make reading less boring for children, there should be a good balance between educational and entertainment materials so that they will become wide readers. Many parents fear that their children might get addicted to comics and magazines, however, I believe that this could be avoided through adequate supervision and proper guidance. For instance, parents could buy their kids leisurely materials that have themes centered on good values formation and creativity.

Undoubtedly, reading books regardless of genre is a good mental exercise and has been found to bring positive benefits for children. It can both help develop creative imagination and improve language skills. As a matter of fact, children’s fiction such as Harry Potter and Lord Of The Rings series require a lot of imaginative reading and creative thinking. Further, reading can boost language learning most specially comprehension and vocabulary. It was found that children who regalarly reads are fast learners than those who do not read.

In conclusion, reading as a regular activity is a good way for children to spend their time as long as parents can ensure the quality and content of materials. In my opinion, parents should make it a point to make reading both educational and fun for kids so that they will develop a long term love for it.