With internet improvements, people can share views or opinions on certain goods or services that they have purchased. Is this a good or a bad thing? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, the internet has united both producers and consumers across the world. With shopping experience going online, people have found a platform to give feedback about their purchases. This essay will discuss both the view; followed by my opinion.

To begin with, Marketing has undergone a paradigm shift with millennials opting for online shopping as a convenient option. With shops and customers going virtual, a platform for reviews and experience has gained momentum. For instance, large e-commerce sites like Flipkart and Amazon display user reviews and experiences to visitors on their platform. This allows people to view feedbacks from customers before making a purchase order and allows customers to share their experience with others. Therefore, the opinion of others, help shape decision on products and services. Moreover, the fear of criticism about a product will help keep a check on sellers, who loot customers either with fraudulent services or damaged product.

However, the problem with online reviews and opinions is that the veracity of the statement cannot be verified. As, the users are hidden behind their online username and have no physical identity, making it difficult to trust random people. Apart from this, there are companies that create fake reviews for them using fake online entities. For Instance, a recent investigation on the rising number of followers of a political party in India, revealed that most of the users were actually the bots and were propagated to make the party famous with large number of likes and comments on their post. Hence, online reviews sometimes spread confusion and distrust among the viewers.

In my opinion, I believe that with services and shopping going online, online reviews and ratings help customers in making a better shopping decision. For instance, while purchasing the new handset, I scrolled through a large number of reviews from experts and users and finally bought the handset that has an almost same review on every site. Therefore, while online shopping is fast catching on, online reviews will provide voice to the customers who either want to give warning or recommendations from their own experience.

To conclude, sharing views about services and products on the internet is the fastest way to make your opinion heard. This will not only help to put pressure on online sellers to sell genuine products but will guide prospective customers to make a wise decision.