The internet is viewed as an excellent means of communication by many. However, there are some who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the establishment of the ARPNET, a small-scale military-operated miniature version of the internet, in the 1960s, the world has gone through a radical change in terms of how we communicate. Today, the internet has become the greatest network of connected devices outnumbering the population of the planet. Some people believe that the internet is the best way for interpersonal communication while others surmise that it is deteriorating our communication skills. Even though this world wide web is a worthwhile tool to communicate, this essay will argue that it is impeding our social skills.

Undoubtedly, compared to all the previous generations, in the twenty-first-century communication is happening at an unprecedented rate. Keeping up with friends and family is easier than ever before as the information can be obtained at the touch of a button. Facebook, WhatsApp and Snapchat, for instance, enable a user to know about their acquittance instantly via their notification. Also, whereas in the past, a person living abroad would usually write letters to their relatives and wait for days before getting a reply, now, the communication happens in almost like real-time that too with superior video quality. Due to such benefits, many people think that this technological advancement is one of the most significant breakthroughs of the present century and is an invaluable tool for communicating with others.

Notwithstanding the positives, others and I think that although the virtual communication is at its highest level today, it is negatively impacting our social skills. Apparently, with hundreds of chatting or social messaging apps, one can socially isolate themselves scrolling through such apps all day. This thought is bolstered by Harvard University’s study that concludes teenagers, as well as adults, prefer to stare at their devices instead of going to a park or interact with people in real. Obviously, if people are beginning to cut off themselves from reality and limiting their real-world interactions, it would bring repercussions instead of benefits. Therefore, others including myself strongly feel that the internet is destroying interpersonal skills despite its advantageous nature.

To conclude, in spite of the benefit of communicating instantaneously, the internet is inhibiting face-to-face interactions. Because of the millennials are more inclined towards virtual chat sessions instead of the real ones it is actually taking them away from the reality, eventually worsening their communication skills