‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

Internet has emerged as an important tool, supplementing modern education and has become a necessary component of the teacher led classroom. Although, it is undeniably useful for the learners, but, in my opinion, its merits cannot outweigh the role played by traditional text books. Hence, it can never be a replacement for the textbooks.

Firstly, course books are a result of extensive research by competent and highly qualified educationists, and are written in accordance to the objectives set as per curriculum. Their contents are sequenced to ensure step by step and logical introduction of the concepts keeping in mind the concerned age group and corresponding learning capabilities. Secondly, the content in course books is precisely what a pupil needs to study for their respective class. This helps students to stay focused on what is relevant to their course. Finally, text books are convenient to use and follow, without causing unnecessary strain on eyes. Longer hours of study can be achieved while reading them.

The Internet, on the other hand, provides access to the vast sea of information and, enables one to expand the horizons of curiosity. It has proven to be beneficial to clarify and understand difficult topics. It can be used to gain access to in depth knowledge, along with providing help in visualizing objects and phenomenon which are otherwise hard to comprehend. For instance, using online videos, three dimensional view of things can be better comprehended by looking at objects from different angles. Similarly, further explanations on any topic can be found just at one click. Furthermore, the greatest advantage is witnessed while conducting research. It makes information from all around the world available almost instantaneously. For example, doing literature surveys becomes way easier with its help.

However, despite of its many applications in higher levels of education, its usage has many limitations. While using it to browse a particular topic, an enormous amount of information is received, which could be relevant or not. Skimming large quantity of data can be distracting, as well as time consuming. For example, making an acceptable and convincing assignment might take few hours, or even days. Also, using internet could be very energy consuming task, and hence, overwhelming for school going children.

In conclusion, the Internet can be an important addition to educational resources available to the education faculty, but it cannot take the place of conventional text books.