Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are

difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Many tourists choose to explore destinations with extreme climatic conditions which present them with extensive physical and psychological challenges. While this can enrich one’s life with rare learning experiences and exponential personality development, the potential risks involved also need to be considered.

Choosing challenging destinations like deserts or snow clad barren lands, for holiday provides many benefits. Firstly, an individual can fulfill his desire for adventure, excitement and thrill by exploration of an unknown territory. Every moment will be spent in anticipating the unexplored course ahead. As an example, one might have to face insects , scorpions or deadly animals during the journey. Secondly, such a quest will help an individual overcome some psychological barriers. For example, one has to win over the urge to give up, when weather conditions become unbearable and beyond endurance. The continuity in adverse conditions will increase will power astonishingly. Finally, new life skills are learnt in the process, and the individual will emerge with a new identity. He will be equipped with better adaptability and survival instincts, which will give him a 'never give in' attitude towards life.

On the other hand, these explorations need to be chosen after rationally assessing one’s existing capabilities, strengths and weaknesses. Some people might find these excessively physically and mentally demanding, thereby not being a judicious choice. Also, there might be lifelong and even irreversible implications of such decisions. For instance, some organ failure or even death might happen due to unprecedented situations and limited resources available to support in case of an emergency. Furthermore, every individual is different and while some enjoy the adrenaline rush produced by uncertain events, others might have a fruitful holiday while relaxing in trouble-free environment.

In conclusion, spending holidays in exploration of places like the Sahara desert or the Antarctica can prove to give life changing benefits, however the risks it presents should not be ignored, to avoid unpleasant consequences.