Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the sahara desert or the antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

With the increase in number of population and people visiting common places more frequently, there has been a change in people’s choice when it comes to visit places. In yester years, destinations with major facilities were preferred by travellers. But these days, they are more into going to undiscovered places for the reason that it makes them experience the nature in its raw form. But there certain advantages and demerits one need to look after before deciding to pay a visit to these sort of destinations.

First and foremost benefit for travellers is that these kind of destinations enables them to become stronger. In other words, it makes them survive in tough situations not only during their vacation, but also in their daily life. Consequently, this helps them to take correct decisions in emergency situations. Moreover, they provide them with life changing experience which can help them to become more creative. To illustrate, Mr. Larry Page once visited Kutla village of Himachal Pradesh, and only after that he was able to come up with the idea of Google. Another important advantage is that these sort of places makes a person satisfied. While experiencing their holiday, they see local people living in these untamed areas who are living without basic amenities and still are able to survive. This in turn, gives them a sense of purpose in life and makes them thankful for whatever they have. To illustrate, Steve Jobs once visited Nepal and he stayed there for a month. It is because of this that he was able to have satisfaction with his work and therefore, he was able to create Apple company.

Coming to the disadvantages, these destinations can prove to be fatal for the tourists and may also put them in isolation. These types of places are generally not meant to be easy. Due to which, a person carries the chance of getting serious physical injuries. And in some cases, it may even lead to death. As a result, this can create a detrimental impact on a person’s well being by causing problems with respect to his relationship, as well as employment. To exemplify, one of my friend went to Spiti Valley in Himachal Pradesh, where he met an accident while climbing a small peak and he had his left leg cut-off. Because of this he was not able to continue his job and is finally a dependent now. Visiting these dangerous places may also put these people into isolation. There has been a research by Oxford University wherein they revealed that people who go to these places are more prone to feel alone because of the environment these areas provide. They further stated that visiting such places can cause people mental distress and therefore, they must avoid going to these places.

To conclude, unusual places do carry a certain set of new adventure which can prove to be fruitful in certain life changing situations as people might gain power and confidence along with gaining satisfaction. But they do carry some dangerous demerits which can harm them not only physically, but also mentally, hence, these should be looked after.