Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

Clothes are one commodity than can either be too revealing, or none at all, when it comes to providing information about a person’s own character or about his/her culture. It is believed by some that attire can play an instrumental role to reveal such information. But, in my opinion, though it may tell about a person’s culture as it plays a vital role in providing such data, it may not be true for character mapping of an individual for the reason that it does not tells about how good or bad a person might be.

To start with, clothes can easily tell about a person’s culture as it can reveal a lot about someone who belongs to it. In other words, clothes can prove to be vital in explaining about the kind of heritage someone has, his/her ethnicity, and the area he/she belongs to. Moreover, it may also provide content with respect to a person’s religion. To exemplify, people who belong to worshipping places wear clothes related to not only their religion, but also their culture. Consequently, it tells a lot about their tradition and the caste or religion they belong to.

Having said that, this may not be true for character mapping of an individual because clothes do not tell that what type of person that individual might be. It is something that cannot be judged merely by clothes. This is rather inculcated within him/her naturally. And therefore, he/she can be well mannered or dangerous. Infact, in many cases, it has been found that people with bad intentions rather dress up properly and henceforth, reduce the chance of getting caught. To illustrate, recent report by Delhi Police department highlighted that there have been increase in number of robberies in particularly north delhi wherein, the criminals disguise as literate salesperson. This makes people believe in them and these criminals take advantage of this opportunity by robbing them.

To conclude, no one can deny the fact that it is easy to know about a person’s culture by the attire they wear and people who believe so are absolutely right at their end. But when it comes to tell about their character, according to me, this is not the case as no one can predict or say about someone’s behaviour or character just by seeing their clothes.