Some people believe that the whole family (grandparents, uncles, aunts) bringing up children is better rather than only parents.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Though this may not carry much weight as it can be termed as a general or natural activity, but upbringing of a child these days, can be a hefty task. A better part of society still believes that more the number of family members, better it is for a child for the reason that it contributes in making them smarter. But there is a section of people who perceive this notion as dangerous. According to them this may prove out to be chaotic for their children, and therefore they make sure that their child interacts with others only on occasional basis. In my opinion, the latter one is a better way as it makes sure that the child is safe and away from having disturbing life experiences.

On one hand, there is no denying in the fact that not just parents, but other family members also play a crucial role in overall development of a child. It makes them socially acceptable as they would be inculcated with learnings, something that may have not been provided to them by their parents per se, but instilled in them by any other relative. Moreover, this practice plays an instrumental role in development of cognitive abilities in a child as grandparents are known to teach their grandchildren using practical games and making them aware of good and bad in daily chores. All these extra curricular activities along with support of elder people, evidently, makes children smarter and sets them apart from crowd, ultimately resulting in creating a better future for them. To exemplify, according to the research conducted by IIM Ahmedabad last year on working class couples, results revealed that kids who got the opportunity to spend time with some other family members, made their way to become more understanding. When asked, researchers made a point that every one has a different aspect of looking at things, and when pass on to our child, it makes them think with a different perspective.

On the other hand, people who are of the mindset that only parents should take responsibility of bringing up their children, think that this will make sure there children are safe. In today’s world, where we have witnessed some disturbing cases wherein children are sexually abused in their childhood, letting our offspring to be with some one else can prove out to be a nightmare. This will not only create a detrimental impact on the child’s physical health, but will also cause adverse effect on their mental health. In certain situations, children are not even able to reveal these situations to their parents where they are forcefully taken up by their so called relatives for the reason that this will impact their family relations. Consequently, it makes them hurt so bad, that their entire adulthood gets wasted in hating themselves. To illustrate, Akarsh Mehta, a psychiatrist from AIMS New Delhi, elaborated a story about his patient on national television. He explained how his patient’s maternal uncle sexually abused him for number of years. The repercussions came out to be so bad of this information, that he had to commit suicide.

To conclude, growing up in a joint family does have its advantages as one can be taught in multiple ways, which affects their learning capabilities in positive manner. Having said that, a huge risk exists in today’s dramatic world wherein children are sexually exploited and this generates the bigger question. Should we allow other family members to take care of our children? Hence, in order to avoid these circumstances, I think that parents must make sure that they are the only one raising their children.