Many working people get little or no exercise either during the work day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result.

Why do many working people not get enough exercise?

What can be done about this problem?

These days health related problems are at an all time high because of lack of proper workout by humans. Neither during their working time, nor when they have idle time, these individuals do physical exercise. The reason behind this is that they the amount of stress they get while working makes them avoid doing it. The solution for this can be self motivation by people themselves and some useful measures taken by employer’s side.

Work stress is a common phenomenon these days and only a number of people may not be affected by it. It creates a detrimental impact on daily life of a person’s well being. In other words, it leads to dissatisfaction of employee and creates mental pressure on him/her. Because of this he/she may not be interested in doing anything else apart from taking rest. Furthermore, it makes these individuals lazy enough to not follow up on their exercise routine. Moreover, the late working hours and travelling time also contributes to this stress because of which they feel tired and avoid leaving their comfort zone. To exemplify, a recent survey by IIT Mumbai revealed that most of the participants were not interested in taking out time to go to gymnasia or garden. When asked, almost all of them gave work stress as a reason.

Talking about the solutions, self motivation plays a vital role in eradication of this issue. It would not only pave the way to indulge in exercise regime, but will also help in reducing stress. It enables people to take control of their time and instead of lying around as a powerless body, it helps in creating a target which helps in achieving our goals, in this case, workout. Another thing that can contribute to this is some important measures taken at workplace. Employers can provide a break during working time during which employees can stretch their muscles. This can be done by adding some equipment to existing gymnasia available or a dancing or zumba class sponsored by the company to take care of employees’ health. To illustrate, Deloitte last year introduced dancing session on alternate working days for their Boston office. And with the success of this, they are now bringing this concept in entire USA.

To conclude, no one can deny the fact that people these days are less interested in working out. And work related stress is the factor contributing to it. But, to improve this, what can be done is to take control of self. Additionally, employers from their side can be helpful in elimination of this problem by providing some amenities by them at their place.