It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Education trends have changed a lot over the last decade. Gap year between secondary and tertiary education is gaining more popularity these days. Having a year off would certainly aid better decision making, learning and experience but there will be some drawbacks also.

One evident benefit of gap year is that it gives more time to think and decide about the future education and job prospects. To put it simply, after completion of competitive and mentally exhausting secondary education, taking a year off helps to decide the stream to be opted in university, which would ultimately land them in the respective job sector. Furthermore, this time can be utilized for exploring various opportunities like part time jobs in field of interest or opting for any small duration course, which would surely be a great learning experience. Therefore, it can fully rejuvenate the career.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of year off. To begin with, it can completely vanish the zeal and interest in any further education. In other words, during a this time off, if a person gets some good opportunity to earn income, he may decide to quit further education thinking secondary education is sufficient to earn bread and butter. Nextly, most of the the companies which come for campus recruitment prefer candidates having either no gap in education or any justified reason for taking year off. This can ruin the career of many people as they may end up as unemployed or doing any unskilled job.

In conclusion, taking time off between school and university definitely has some positive sides. However, it may end up many careers. Hence, focusing more on completing tertiary education with proper utilisation of gap year should be the motive.