It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Although taking a gap year between high school and college is an upcoming trend amongst some, other people consider that it can be highly detrimental to their career. Students can gain practical knowledge and financial independence but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to students taking a year off between two education levels. Firstly, one benefit is that students develop an understanding to implement theoretical principles learned in school. For instance, a student who is passionate about writing can start and grow their blow, thus gaining experience and enhance their skill set before taking advance classes in college. Secondly, one can learn money management skills with a job and also fun for college which they otherwise would be unable to afford, especially by low-income groups. This would help students to develop into self-supporting adults and be able to afford undergraduate fees.

On the other hand, one problem to consider is the minimal practical experience can hinder the learning phase of a young adult. For example, it is almost impossible to get a highly skilled job immediately after high school for an average student. Furthermore, it will be difficult to focus on studies after working full-time or traveling around for a year, resulting in, poor academic performance. Another possible issue to mention is the impact on possible future employment because of gap year. It can be assumed by the future employer that the applicant with gap year is not serious about education unless the year off is due to some extreme conditions.

In conclusion, while some can benefit from a year off between high school and college, it can also lead to poor academic performance in college or create issues for future employment.