It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be.

Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought

closer together.

Include any relevant examples from your experience.

With changing lifestyle, the bond between our family members is progressively weakening as the trend of living in a nuclear family takes over the orthodoxical joint family arrangement. This essay will discuss the reasons for this change and also suggest solutions to this problem.

Many of us have migrated away from our families to different cities in order to look for a source of livelihood. In order to earn a better living, we are forced to leave our families and settle in foreign places for employment. In addition to this, increased competition in the job environment has forced us to give most of our time at work leading to an improper work life balance. Due to this, we are not able to frequently interact with our family members. In my case, I am only able to meet my loved ones only on a few occasions during my Diwali or Christmas holidays as a result of a hectic work life. Hence, our bonds with our family members are not as strong as they used to be as a result of limited interaction with them.

Families could be brought closer together by promoting work life balance. By making time for our family out of our busy work life, we will be able to frequently meet our family members and strengthen our social ties with them. Furthermore, in order to evade the need to travel afar for job opportunities, self employment may be promoted. For instance, many run their family businesses in order to locally earn a living without the need to migrate away from their families.

In conclusion, our social ties with our families are weakening as a result of poor work life balance and increased migration to new places in better living. This can be resolved by giving time to our family and creating self employment locally.