It is generally agreed that the amount of rubbish created by humans today is a worldwide problem. What do you think are the main causes of this situation? What measures can be used to tackle the problem?

As they say cleanliness is half faith. But it is mostly believed that the garbage pollution today is a worldwide conundrum. According to me the main causes are over population and excessive use of non degradable material. The question is what can be done about it? This essay shall elaborate the causes of rubbish made by people and how to take some measures to resolve these problem.

First cause of excessive waste is over population. Most of the people in rural area are the reason of unwanted waste, especially young ones hanging out with their peers in streets who are mostly found of throwing rubbish here and there. They eat and chat for hours without realizing the mess they are creating behind. They do not have a sense to dump their waste in proper bins. For instance, it has been observed around many areas people throwing wrappers out of their windows from moving vehicle. Moreover, several people are seen urinating in drains publically. By such ridiculous actions, what lessons are they leaving behind for the young generation? Secondly, use of plastic bags which are not eco-friendly and hard to dispose off; are cause of garbage pollution. These bags neither can be recycled nor can be disposed off, and consequently at times end up in sea water hence causing danger to marine life. Resent news has shown a whale, which was in pain and on verge of death. When she was operated thousands of plastic bags were found in her stomach. Is not this monstrosity?

Indeed there are certain procedures which can be done to handle above mentioned problems. If Government starts fining people who are seen throwing garbage purposefully can decrease the unwanted waste level drastically. Such people must be involved in community work to clean up the environment, enforced by law. Also, plastic bags must be replaced with bio degradable ones, which are recyclable and reusable and do not cause any harm to the environment. Furthermore, bins must be installed after every few intervals in order to inculcate the sense of responsibility among people to throw rubbish in respective bins. A case in point, different areas have setup certain certified cleanliness community for themselves in order to keep a proper check and balance.

To conclude, people must be made aware of not throwing rubbish randomly and also must be encouraged to use eco friendly materials.