It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that historical buildings are the manifestation of rich history, culture and traditions of the past. A section of society adheres that preserving obsolete buildings is mere a wastage of money as they need proper maintenance and repair, therefore, it is better to demolish them and construct modern buildings instead. This essay intends to demur the statement to large extent for several reasons elucidated in the ensuing segments.

First and foremost reason that why it is pertinent to preserve old building is that they attract the tourism which generates excellent revenue for the governments and thus boost is the economy of nations. Hotel Taj in Mumbai, for example, was a history building before which was later converted into 7 star hotel and proved a great source of income for country. As a result, it is better to to utilise old buildings in spite of reconstructing them.

Similarly, for the upcoming generations, old buildings are an asset heirlooms. To be more precise, if traditional buildings are looked after and maintained well, young generation may stay in touch with their ancestral values otherwise they may get deprived of their culture and history. Not only this but such buildings need maintenance therefore it opens job vistas also. By this I mean, when old buildings are converted in order to use it in a better way l; at the same time staff is also required to run that particular organisation. Nigeria, for instance, a well-known country for old buildings, started occupying most places to uplift the economy, open myriad of jobs for unemployed people and thus reduced the unemployment ratio.

However, some people believe that demolishing obsolete buildings is need of hour for constructing modern ones to keep pace with modernity. Nevertheless, only dilapidated building require to destroy for constructing the new ones. Therefore, demolishing the old buildings which require maintenance only is never commendable. In this case, many buildings do not attract the tourism due to bad infrastructure and incurs huge amount of money.

To recapitulate, I vehemently vouch that preserving old buildings is utmost important in order to maintain sheen of a particular heritage. whereas, the useless complexes which have no option to be used, should be modified into the modern ones.