In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example World Wide Web & communication by email. However future developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Information technology has been flourishing by leaps and bounds in the last two decades and has been providing us new avenues for retrieving information and communicating with others effectively. Although some people believe that in the coming years this growth would have more drawbacks, I completely disagree with this, and believe that in the future IT will play a key role both personally and professionally.

Firstly, IT has become an indispensable part of every industry may it be hospitality, retail or healthcare. Furthermore, owing to the extremely intuitive IT services like WWW, these business organizations are now rapidly migrating their businesses online, which is helping them to grow manifolds. For example, according to a report published in “Times Of India”, owing to the profit “Hindustan Uni Lever” has generated from the time they have introduced E-commerce in their business, they have decided to move majority of its business online in the coming years. If these technologies do not develop in the future, it would become difficult for these companies to grow, which will have a negative impact on country’s economy.

Secondly, email and instant messengers have immensely revolutionized our lives, as they have made it easier to convey and receive information immediately. As a result , majority of people are switching towards these latest modes of communication. For instance, in a survey conducted by “Indian Youth Association”, it is expected that in the next ten years, around 70%-80% of Indian population will be transitioned towards these sources of communications replacing the traditional mails. If in the coming years these modes of communication are not developed, it would take a longer time to convey any information, which would hamper the importance of these messages.

In conclusion, I concur that the development of IT in the future will play a key role in the profitability of an organization. Simultaneously, it will also impact the personal life of people by keeping them socially connected.