It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years having a gap year between schooling and tertiary education is gaining tremendous popularity. This essay will highlight some of the advantages and drawbacks which have resulted from this trend.

Admittedly, having a year break is often advantageous as it provides enough time for the students to analyze and understand as to what are their future goals and aspirations. As, in school, children are often occupied with their academics, they rarely get enough time for this. To illustrate, during this break period, students can make a choice and decide on what colleges they need to consider according to their job selection. Another vital advantage is that during this period students are able to relax and unwind themselves. If students do not opt for these gap periods, it becomes difficult for them to take up university education as they rarely get enough time to accommodate this transition, which in turn results in poor grades in universities.

Nevertheless, besides the above advantages, there are several shortcomings of having a year gap. One significant disadvantage is that most of the companies do not prefer hiring employees with education-gap. As a result, when these students enter the job market, they may have to face rejections. For example, most of the IT companies prefer to hire candidates with continuous education. Consequently, it sometimes becomes difficult for these students to grab their desired jobs. Besides, difficulty in acquiring a proper job, sometimes they become so relaxed during this year that they start thinking to quit studies. For this reason, they drop out of the universities and spend rest of their lives doing nothing.

In conclusion, having a year gap is crucial as it helps a student to freely choose his future university and also to understand his career aspirations, it is also possible that during this gap the student may get carried away by the tension-less environment leading to quitting education and eventually end up being not chosen by desired companies.