people sleep less than before in many countries. why people sleep less? what effect does it have individually and in society?

In most of the countries, people are sleep deprived. Working over-time and excessive screen time are the two major reasons behind this. Sleeping fewer hours not only has a detrimental effect on an Individual’s mental and physical health but also hampers his social life.

Nowadays, people over the world do not get enough sleep. With increasing competition and to meet the targets, professionals spend most of their time working. Moreover, excessive exposure to electronic gadgets like mobile phones, laptops and video games has also reduced the sleep time. For Example, in a survey conducted by Asian Times, it was found that almost 78% of the Asian population sleep late at night, either because they bring their office work to their home or they become so much indulged in electronic devices that they remain unaware of the sleep hours they had wasted on screen.

Furthermore, sleeping less has several consequences both on individuals as well as society. People sleeping less usually suffer from diseases such as obesity, migraine, and insomnia. They cannot apply themselves to their work which in turn leads to depression. Not sleeping for adequate hours also has social repercussions. People become anxious and start losing temper. They no more remain socially active and easily fall into arguments. These arguments sometimes lead to legal actions.

In conclusion, sleeping patterns in several countries have drastically changed. The main causes for this sleep deprivation are spending most of the time working and also too much involvement in technological devices. This is not only deteriorating human health but also having negative impact on their social behavior.