Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds and providing us new avenues for accomplishing our tasks with effectiveness. Several household chores which used to be manually executed are now automated. In my opinion, I believe that this advancement has more benefits in comparison to drawbacks, and in this essay, I will support my view with examples.

Admittedly, domestic appliances have made us slaves to technology. Many people are now completely dependent on them and rarely push themselves to perform any manual homework, eventually leading them to be more lethargic at home. To illustrate , with the help of equipments such as washing machines, dish washers and vacuum cleaners people are able to complete their household tasks in no time and with not much physical involvement. If these machines were not invented, people would have been forced to execute all their tasks manually, which would help them to be healthier and fitter.

Nevertheless, despite the above disadvantage, I believe that these machines offer a plethora of advantages. These appliances have proven to be a blessing for people, specially women. Earlier women used to spend significant amount of time in household activities, leaving them with no leisure time . Furthermore, with the advent of these technological devices, they are able to spare a lot of time, which they now utilize in pursuing their career, and in taking care of their kids. For example, in a survey conducted by “Asia White Goods Association ”, it was reported that there is an increase of 42% of women returning back to work owing to the usage of these domestic appliances. Consequently, this innovation has helped to improve their living standards.

To conclude, although these appliances have made people inert at home , I believe they are now able to make use of this time in looking after their families and in seeking better opportunities in the job world.