Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

In recent times, we have been immensely bombarded with advertisements. May it be print media like newspapers and magazines, or online advertisements, companies are spending a lucrative amount in promoting their products. These product promotions tempt consumers, and they end up buying things which they actually do not require. This tendency has both positive and negative effects, and this essay will elaborate on these effects.

One of the major benefits of impulsive buying generated through product promotion is that it indirectly boosts up a job opportunity. To balance the supply and demand ratio, industries must increase their production, which is only possible by hiring more manpower. Furthermore, due to the rise in the employment level, the number of taxpayers increases, which in turn enhances a country’s economy. A common example can be seen in the case of the mobile phone industry, in the race of keeping themselves technologically up to the mark consumers end up buying high-end cellphones whose features they rarely use. If there was no demand for these high-tech phones, the production would have been low, eventually leading to a lower number of jobs and even lesser number of tax contributors.

Nevertheless, despite the above positive outcomes, there are two unfavorable impacts which cannot be overlooked. Firstly, attracted by irresistible advertisements, people, especially most of the college-goers, end up buying unwanted products to boast themselves. Consequently, they fall short of money and get seeped into antisocial activities to make ends meet; This ultimately results in increased crime-rate. To illustrate, in a report published in “Youth Today”, it was indicated that over 20% of crimes conducted by youth is because of their desire to possess products for enhancing their self-esteem, which they do not need. Secondly, the other portion of the youth who do not get involved in these activities takes up part-time jobs to afford these items. Ultimately, they pay less attention to studies and end up securing poor grades.

In conclusion, though consumerism has some positive effects as it increases the job opportunities and improves a nation’s economy, it also has detrimental effects which may push a person either into crime related activities or may diverge youth from studies.