Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that schools play a crucial role in the upbringing of a child. Several schools include homework in their curriculum, which is preferred by some people, whereas there are many who are against this practice. I completely agree with the former and in my below essay I will discuss both views and put forward my opinion.

Undoubtedly, one of the most significant drawbacks of homework is that students get very little time to relax. Owing to the lengthy school hours, kids get so much consumed that they are barely left with any strength to focus on other recreational activities. For example, in India most primary schools operate for 5-6 hours, and as most schools assign homework, these children end up spending majority of their time studying. If children do not get enough time to unwind themselves, this would have a detrimental effect on their mental growth, which eventually may lead them towards depression.

Nevertheless, despite the above disadvantage, I strongly believe that schools should allot homework to children as this will help in reducing screen time. For instance, it is often seen that when children are left with some spare time, they usually spend it in playing video games or in watching television. If these children are made to complete their home assignments, they may get diverted from these habits and can focus more in studies. Another important benefit associated with this is that homework helps in revising certain subjects which require regular practice. To exemplify, subjects like mathematics and science require frequent revision, without which it is impossible to secure good grades in exams.

In conclusion, although it is understood that homework poses extra burden on children, I feel that they are crucial as they divert children from usage of electronic gadgets and also they help in securing good grades in exams.