Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.To what extent do you agree?

Investing in preventive measures is relatively cost effective, whereas an exorbitant amount of money is spent on exploring and treating diseases. So, it is considered that taking proactive steps in preventing diseases is better than curing them. In my opinion, I completely agree that investing in preventive measures is better than investing in treatment.

On the one hand, the amount of money spent on treatment is extortionate, whereas only a small fraction of this investment is involved in preventive measures. Being ready in advance with measures for upcoming diseases helps to cut down a lot of cost which, consequently, can be used in other developmental activities. For example, in 2009, during the outbreak of swine flu, citizens of countries like India were vaccinated in advance and hence most of them were rescued from this disease. As a result, the funds saved were used in improvising the infrastructure of the country.

On the other hand, being proactively ready with preventive measures also helps the poor section of the society. Certain life-threatening diseases, for instance, dengue is more prevalent in the rural areas. Poor people are more prone to these diseases. Furthermore, it is difficult for them to afford the treatment and as a result a major portion of their earning is spent in curing them. But, if they are well informed about the precautions required to save them from these diseases, a huge amount can be saved , and this can be used by them in improving their lifestyle.

In conclusion, investing money in preventive measures is better than investing in treatment of diseases as it helps in saving money which can otherwise be used in development of the country. Also, poor section of the society can use this money in improving their standard of living.