people sleep less than before in many countries. why people sleep less? what effect does it have individually and in society?

A healthy mind thrives in a healthy body. But, to be healthy it is important that a person has a healthy diet and adequate sleep. Unfortunately, in recent times it has been seen that people do not take enough sleep. This leads to several personal and social repercussions. In my below essay, I will illustrate with examples, the reasons causing sleep deprivation and how it affects a person and society.

In this competitive era, every individual is struggling hard to make the ends meet. Owing to this they tend to bring their office work to their homes. Eventually, they spend most of their sleeping hours in completing their work-related assignments. To illustrate, majority of the Software Engineers, remain awake till the late hours to accomplish their targets, this, in turn, reduces their sleeping hours. Another reason which is believed to be one of the significant reasons behind sleep deficiency is excessive screen time. Nowadays, the trend of social media, video games and online movies are increasing leaps and bounds. Many of them become some much engrossed in their electronic gadgets that they rarely realize that they have wasted their sleep-time in front of the screen. To exemplify, it is reported in “The Times Of India” that about 45% of Indian Population browse through their social media accounts until late night hours.

Consequently, these lifestyles have several detrimental effects on an individual’s health. A person with insufficient sleeping hours, falls prey to numerous diseases such as obesity, migraine and insomnia, owing to which they are unable to apply themselves to work. Furthermore, this scenario also impacts a person’s social life. They eventually become agitated and short-tempered. If these people are introduced in the society, they fall into unwanted altercations and may end up in legal actions against them. For example, it is observed that majority of road-accidents and road-rages occur owing to the reduction in the driver’s sleep-time.

In conclusion, too much of workload and excessive screen time are the key reasons for sleep-deprivation and our immensely impacting people’s health and leading them towards anti-social behavior.