Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree?

In the present day world, medical research is highly expensive and some people suggest that taking precautions is better than undergoing treatment. This essay partially agrees with this opinion because it is impossible to prevent all the diseases and hence research is mandatory. Firstly, this essay will discuss why preventive measures don’t work in some areas and secondly, it will explain why research is necessary.

To begin with, there are many unidentified diseases spreading all over the world these days. Certain communities in under developed countries are still consuming food and water under unhygienic conditions. For those who are still suffering from poverty, it is difficult to afford for healthy intake and costly treatments and hence spreading of illness in such areas is unsustainable. The best examples are the recent ebola outbreak in Africa which spread all over the world and if they had proper treatment it would have saved plenty of lives.

Furthermore, it is essential to diagnose certain deadly diseases before it gets contracted from person to person. Although, the research involves deliberately high budget and it’s a cumbersome process to find the sources of these diseases. Besides, treatments can save plenty of lives and the research helps to recognize and prevent the unidentified diseases. The scientists of WHO recently invented laser treatments to kill the cancer causing bacteria in the human body and hence this deadly disease can now be diagnosed and cured with ease.

To conclude, it is clear that precautions do not help to keep away human beings from diseases. It is however necessary to go ahead with the research to invent the causes and treatments for harmful illness because it is beneficial as far as the future prospect is concerned.