In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

To what extent do you agree?

Now a days, single gender and co-educational institutions are common in most of the countries and parents opt to admit their wards to one among them. But, it is often argued by some people that sending children to single-sex schools may have some drawbacks in their future. This essay partially agrees with this statement because single gender schools are highly disciplined and co-educational institutions brings more exposure and equality among children.

On the one hand, dedicated educational organizations are becoming more popular because parents assume that the children will grow up in a disciplinary environment. Since there will be no interaction with the opposite gender, children will not get distracted from their studies. In addition, most of the parents are concerned about the safety of girl child and hence they prefer to admit them to girl’s school. A recent study proved that 70% of the students who are topper come from single-sex schools because of their improvised attention and ability to concentrate on studies.

On the other hand, co-education schools have its own benefits as it provides more competency and exposure to most of the activities among different genders. Although disciplinary issues exist because of mis-behavior and distraction, they are still taken care and controlled by the school authorities. Every student gets an opportunity to interact with the opposite sex and take part together in sports and other extracurricular activities. Therefore, these children don’t find it difficult to cope up with their co-workers and partners when they enter their professional and family life.

In conclusion, it is clear that although children grow up with proper discipline in single sex schools, it is still mandatory to communicate and take part in group activities which involves both the genders as it beneficial for their productivity and future well-being.