Some people believe that museums and historic sites should be open for free children under 18.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that places such as historical sites and museum galleries should not be charged for teenagers under 18. This essay agrees with this opinion because these places act as a source of knowledge for the young generation which must be given free of cost. Firstly, this essay will discuss how poor children will be benefited and secondly, it will outline the advantages in children’s education.

To begin with, it is evident that there has been a drastic decline in the number of visitors visiting the galleries and historic places. It is because of the higher entrance fees which cannot be afforded by the families of children below poverty. Therefore, allowing free entry for teenagers will attract them and compel their parents to visit those places. Consequently, parents would feel motivated and confident that their children will learn something without any cost. Recently in the year 2015, Singapore government has declared zero entry fees to historical museums and libraries for children below 18.

To elucidate it further, this proposal will help the youngsters to gain more knowledge about our history which would assist them in their academics. By providing free access to the exhibitions, children could evidence the unique objects collection used in the olden days and differentiate how it has been replaced over time with the improvements in technology. Every year as a part of academics, certain schools in India arrange a guided tour for primary and high school children to museums or historical places for practical learning of a subject.

To conclude, it is clear that the young generation will be highly benefited over free access to the galleries and historical sites. Overall, it not only helps the families of poor children to afford a visit but is also a source of education for every teenager. Therefore, government of every country should carry out this proposal for the upcoming talents of their nation.